TTT | Books I Loved that Made Me Want More Books Like Them

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly topic hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week she provide a topic and you are free to use that topic and/or variations of that topic to make your top ten list. A full list of the weekly themes can be found here.

Today’s topic covers books that made me want to read more books like this. This could be books in that genre, time period, place, etc.

I recently finished this book where half of it was set during the 1921 Tulsa Race Riot. This definitely made me want to read more books on the Tulsa Riot of 1921 and to learn more about what happened since my schooling failed to tell me about this!

Not that this is my first gothic novel, but it definitely made me want to read even more gothic novels and gothic novels that were not always set in England.

I just wanted to read all the novels set in New Orleans! I still do actually. And it doesn’t matter the time period.

Kate Moore’s storytelling of a real life event was so compelling that I want to read more nonfiction.

I became obsessed with WWII novels after reading The Book Thief, and I haven’t stopped reading WWII novels since.

Retellings of classic novels, fairytales, anything has become a favorite genre of mine since reading Jane Steele.

First read The Secret Scripture in undergrad and wanted to read all books set in Ireland and any books about Ireland. It became such an obsession that I focused on Irish Literature in my English Master’s degree.

I’m not a fan of romance focused books but I absolutely fell in love with them after Boyfriend Material. I realized I just don’t like hetero romance stories, so any LGBTQ+ romance, I’m all here for.

YA murder mysteries are always so fun because they have pretty good storylines with not as much at stake (and not as much gore).

HP was my introduction into fantasy and made me fall in love and want to read more. I was 7 at the time, so I don’t really remember if I read any other fantasy books before this one.

Happy Reading, Darlings!

11 thoughts on “TTT | Books I Loved that Made Me Want More Books Like Them

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s